Indus International School Pune

Creating Leaders Of Tomorrow

IGCSE Programme

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a balanced international curriculum conducted by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate. The curriculum is suitable for students of all nationalities and all levels of ability. It provides an ideal preparation for higher level courses such as GCE, 'A' level, SAT, ACT and IB.


IGCSE is used by schools in over 100 countries. It is recognized as equivalent to the British 'O' level and as a qualification for matriculation by Universities in many countries. The examination is typically taken at the end of two years, in Grade X.

IGCSE Subject Options

IGCSE provides a broad study programme by drawing subjects from five areas:

  • Languages
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Creative, Technical and Vocational

A student who takes an examination in a minimum of 5 subjects qualifies for the IGCSE certificate. The ICE Certification (International Certificate of Education) is awarded by the CIE for the recommended combination of subjects in the IGCSE examinations. At Indus, all students are required to prepare for this certification.


ICE is a group award of the IGCSE that requires the study of subjects drawn from five different IGCSE subject groups. A student must take at least seven subjects, including two languages and one subject from each of the other subject groups given below.

Subjects offered under each group at Indus are

Group 1 : Languages:

First Language - English, Korean*, Thai*, Mandarin*, Japanese*

Second Language - English, Hindi

Foreign Language - French, Spanish, German



Group 2 : Humanities and Social Sciences:

Economics, Geography, History, English Literature


Group 3 : Sciences:

Physics, Chemistry, Biology


Group 4 : Mathematics:

International Mathematics, Additional Mathematics


Group 5 : Creative, Technical and Vocational:

Art & Design, Business Studies, Information and Communication Technology

The ICE result is published in 3 levels:

  • Distinction - Grade A or above in 5 subjects and Grade C or above in 2 subjects
  • Merit - Grade C or above in 5 subjects and grade F or above in 2 subjects
  • Pass - If none of the above criteria is met. 

We recommend our students to take 9 subjects to enhance their chances of achieving the best results.

To Know more, click here.

Enquiry Form
Student's Full Name
Date of Birth
Applying for Grade
Academic Year
Contact No
Country Code - Number
Email Id
Note: Please fill in all the above fields.
Online Application Form
Virtual Tour of Indus International School Pune

Latest News

Message Details


Photo Gallery

The 26th Central Leadership Retreat at IISB - 18-21 June, 2017
Senior School Indus Day 2016
PYP Indus Day 16th December 2016
Angrewadi Advocacy Project - 19th November 2016
TEDx at IISP - 18th November 2016
Sports Day 2016
Oxford MUN - November 11-13 2016
IB Asia Pacific Regional Conference 2016 - March 17-19, 2016
Left arrow Left arrow

All ©Rights Reserved To Indus Trust